In New Jersey, if you have been convicted of any driving violations at least once, you are bound to acquire SR-22 insurance to reinstate your driving privileges. It is a prerequisite that your insurance policy meets the minimum liability requirements of New Jersey. On the other hand, if you intend to continue driving but don’t own a car, you can apply for non-owner SR-22 insurance to garner liability insurance coverage.
Drivers in New Jersey who have received driving citations in the past are bound to pay more expensive rates. However, the increase in their car insurance policy in New Jersey will depend on the severity of the violation.
New Jersey’s SR-22 insurance cost is nearly a tripled amount before a serious citation such as DUI or at-fault accidents. Driving citations such as speeding tickets can also render an increase in your car insurance rates in New Jersey. Thus, regardless of the kind of violation you commit, your auto insurance rate will rise significantly.
On the other hand, there are also ways to gain cheap SR-22 insurance in New Jersey. Comparing rates from different car insurance companies will help you identify the one that will lead to more affordable SR-22 insurance rates. You can extensively gather information about various policies from other companies and take into account your current driving profile. Additionally, you can hire an agent to help you come up with cheap SR-22 insurance in New Jersey.
There are several SR-22 insurance significant players in New Jersey. GEICO, Progressive, and CSAA are some of the few that offer competitive SR-22 auto insurance rates in the state. These car insurance companies intensively evaluate your driving history to determine your risk level. Insurers will then give your SR-22 car rates upon examining your recent driving profile, location, age, and vehicle type.
|Company||Average Annual Rates |
with Clean Record
|Average Annual Rates|
with 1 Accident
|Average Annual Rates |
with 1 DUI
|Average Annual Rates |
with 1 Speeding Violation
New Jersey insurance laws prohibit auto insurance companies from increasing rates or canceling policies before the renewal period. However, when your car insurance coverage expires, you will be required to have SR-22 insurance that can also possibly result in more expensive auto insurance rates or non-renewal of your policy.
New Jersey DMV gives drivers with violation a surcharge of $1,000. One of the most common causes of car insurance increase is the privilege of a good driver discount. If you have been convicted with DUI citations, you will not be eligible for a good driver discount for ten years. Additionally, after a DUI or road violations, your license can be voided, and the cost of license reinstatement in New Jersey is $120 to $125.
SR-22 insurance projects the financial responsibility and stability of the high-risk driver. There are a couple of requirements when acquiring SR-22 insurance in New Jersey. One is purchasing a car insurance policy that meets the standard level of the liability insurance policy. The other one is the filing of the SR-22 form to DMV, which must be done by your insurer on your behalf.
Typically, the length of how long you will need SR-22 insurance is measured by the level of your violation or the severity of the damages. Most of the violations will only render a three-year SR-22 insurance requirement. However, for more severe fractions of breaches and damages, it can last up to ten years.
Being under SR-22 insurance, you will need to be prompt with payments and following the good driver rules. If you fail to do so, it is likely for your driving privileges to be suspended again and your car insurance policy to get canceled. Thus, any lapses can lead to non-renewable policies and driver’s license.
You will not be eligible for non-owner SR-22 insurance in New Jersey if you have a car that you frequently drive despite the car is owned by another person. But, for those who are qualified for non-owner SR-22 insurance, state-required liability insurance will be provided regardless of the kind of car you drive. On a brighter note, non-owner SR-22 insurance holders garner cheaper rates in contrast to those under an owner’s policy. It is one way to reduce your SR-22 insurance cost in New Jersey after a violation.
|Common Citation||Annual Average Rate (with violation)||Annual Average Rate (with no violation)|
|At-Fault Crash at >$2,000||$2,358||$766|
|Speeding Ticket (21-25mph above limit)||$2,175||$586|
If you have an ongoing car insurance policy, it can be easy to acquire an SR-22 after a violation. Just directly contact your agent or car insurance provider and request them to file SR-22 insurance on your behalf. However, there are some insurance companies around New Jersey that might refuse your request. Thus, the best thing to do is to look for another company that can cater to your needs.
If you are insured and want to file SR-22 car insurance in New Jersey, an additional cost will be billed to you for the whole process of the application. It is likely for some insurance companies to disqualify your application. However, there will be other companies that would be willing to sell you SR-22 insurance.
It can be tricky for non-owner drivers to acquire SR-22 insurance, but it also can be cheaper. All you need to do is concrete proof of your insurance to acquire the required certificates that were mentioned above.
The best thing to do is to purchase non-owners car insurance coverage before trying to apply for SR-22 insurance. It may take a lot of your time and effort, but being able to qualify for non-owners SR-22 insurance will help you garner cheaper rates since you will not be given coverage for your vehicle’s physical damage in cases of collision.
The bottom line is, it is better to prevent the obligation of acquiring SR-22 insurance as much as possible. Maintaining a good driving profile and intentionally avoiding road violations will keep on you the list of good drivers in New Jersey, which, relatively, is the best way to keep your car insurance rate on the average level.